The C.R.A.P Idea

So once again I’ve changed my idea for another assignment, originally my topic for this animation was going to be about Music, but I’ve suddenly changed my idea to an advertisement for a drink that I made up called the Crazy Radical Apple Pineapple Juice (a.k.a CRAP Juice), this mostly because I find that this idea is a lot funnier than the other one, I can really picture how I want the animation.

In my head I imagine the animation and script to be slightly fast paced to keep the audience attracted to what my actor is saying, I’ve included words like ‘Incredible’ and ‘Amazing’ to make the product that is completely pointless sound that like it’s something that you would need on a day-to-day bases. Something similar to Commercial Guy from Family Guy.

Family guy – Wacky waving inflatable arm flailing tube man – YouTube. 2016. Family guy – Wacky waving inflatable arm flailing tube man – YouTube. [ONLINE] Available at:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cvaRGiMWRaE. [Accessed 18 April 2016].

Family Guy – Plywood Cutout Folk Art – YouTube. 2016. Family Guy – Plywood Cutout Folk Art – YouTube. [ONLINE] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YhpIAQiU4-w. [Accessed 18 April 2016].

What I like about these two videos is the how energetic the salesman Al Harrington is in the commercials, which I want to apply to the voice actor of this animation.

As for the animation, I want the words to be big, bold and colourful to attract the attention of viewers, kind of similar to the way they use typography the ‘I Like Trains’ Music Video by TomSka. What I like about the video, in terms of the typography, is that the text appears as the musicians sing the lyrics.

I LIKE TRAINS (asdfmovie song) – YouTube. 2016. I LIKE TRAINS (asdfmovie song) – YouTube. [ONLINE] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hHkKJfcBXcw. [Accessed 18 April 2016].

So far I’ve composed a script that is roughly 30-40 seconds long which is matches the brief, and the next for me to do is to record audio so I can animate over it.

Leave a Reply

