Figure It Out

I’ve done some character designs and idea generating today. WHOOP!

RoughCharacterDesigns

I was pretty confused with the brief before today. I wasn’t sure which approach to take whether to do a pitch or a discussion between two characters. Although the pitch was the easiest to do, it’ll be quite difficult to write 1250 words without rambling. As for the discussion, it’ll be difficult to include topics about Cinematography and Film Language without forcing it.

StoryIdeas

So I discussed with Jemma, and after some thought, we came up with a great approach. Instead of doing one or the other, I can try combine the two approaches in a way. I’d write the discussion between a Human and a Toon, with some minor references to other Live-Action meets Cartoon films. After that’s done I will make a Storyboard of the short scene, and name and list all the camera movements I will use, on top of that some character sketches and designs with notes about the way they look.

So I started thinking of the story that will unfold. I came up with a few good ideas, but the idea of having a toon con-man trying to sell false goods to an outsider, kind of stuck with me. It reminded me of Stan Pines from Gravity Falls, and his constant quest to con the town and get rich.

CharacterConcept

Here’s a sketch on the Con-Man Toon. I really like the design of this character and really shows that I’ve managed to adapt my own style. I’ve also took inspiration from Reaver from the Fable Series, another con-man but a lot more dangerous than Stan from GF. Although I like the character, Reavers personality is not something I want my character to have. My character is not exactly a successful con-man, and the shop that he owns isn’t the most popular. Although if a customer walks in, he does his best to dress to impress.

Image result for Stan pines

Gravity Falls: Stan Pines May Die In S02E19! | moviepilot.com. 2017. Gravity Falls: Stan Pines May Die In S02E19! | moviepilot.com. [ONLINE] Available at: https://moviepilot.com/posts/3653454. [Accessed 23 March 2017].

Image result for Reaver fable

The Fable Wiki. 2017. Reaver | The Fable Wiki | Fandom powered by Wikia. [ONLINE] Available at: http://fable.wikia.com/wiki/Reaver. [Accessed 23 March 2017].

Leave a Reply

