Team Live Briefs – Evaluation

To evaluate this project, I strongly believe that I have successfully worked in a team to create an animated piece for a client.

For my first time ever working for a client, it went well. I got to work with an incredible and devoted team, which we all pulled our weight, and got what we needed to get done by the deadlines that we set. If anything, this is probably the most organised that I’ve ever been, which I feel is mostly because other people were relying on me to do my part and I didn’t want to let them down. Something that I will need to apply to myself when I do my 3rd year project, but it gives me hopes for the future if I’m ever put in a group again. As for working for the clients, it was not what I was expecting. Unlike the other clients that our classmates were working for, ours were not as present. At the beginning where we did our pitch to them, they were very informative about what they wanted and were engaged with what ideas we had. But after the pitch they were pretty much none-existent, I’d send progress emails with links to our blogs so they can keep up-to-date with what we’re doing, as well as asking if there were any changes they would like to add or at the least a reply saying good job. But they never replied which was kind of irritating because we would be continuing working on the animation with constant fear of them replying last minute and asking us to change stuff, plus I feel like we weren’t getting the full client experience like the other groups were, with their clients giving them deadlines to send them updates on the work.

As for how I feel about my performance during the project, I would say I was a team player. Taking on the responsibility on animating the longest scene in the animation, as well doing the editing for the video by myself showed that I was committed to project. I also think that my animating skills have improved in after effects, I can confidently animate a character using the correct procedures, as well as work between After Effects and Photoshop with creating the assets for the scene. Although I might say I did well during this project I made the rookie mistake of working completely off a USB, although I did left copies of my progress on some PC’s, I still worked off it, which came around to bite me in the ass later when it came to rendering the video out, because when I did, some sound effects and background music were missing. And that was because when I was working off USB it didn’t have enough bandwidth to export all the different file formats to put in the render, which ended up with me having to copy all the files on to the PC and re-locate all the files so that they would work.

Overall I am pleased with the end results, as well as how well I worked within a team. If I had any suggestions towards how this project could be better. I would not work off a USB and would like to have had clients who were more active and engaged with what we were doing.

 

Leave a Reply

